CoinEx: licences, security, fees and reviews
Centralized exchange
In short
- Legal entity
- Algebraiex Global Limited
- Fees
- Spot maker: 0.2% at VIP 0; 0.16% when paid in CET (as of 31 October 2026)
- Risks and caveats
- No licence or registration with a financial regulator is shown on CoinEx's official pages, and the operating company's jurisdiction is not stated.
- Checked
- 31 October 2026
Visitor ratings: do you like CoinEx?
Key facts
- Type
- Centralized exchange
- Exchange launched
- 2017
- Operator
- Algebraiex Global Limited (contracting entity under the Terms of Service)
- Official site
- coinex.com
Key facts checked on 31 October 2026 against official sources and regulator registers.
What is CoinEx
CoinEx is a centralised cryptocurrency exchange founded in 2017. Its services are provided by Algebraiex Global Limited and include spot, margin and futures trading, AMM markets, loans and earn products. It issues its own token, CET, which runs on its own CoinEx Smart Chain.
Good to know
- The contracting entity is Algebraiex Global Limited; the Terms and Privacy Policy do not state where it is incorporated. ↗
- CoinEx is not available in the US, mainland China, Hong Kong, Canada, the European Economic Area, the UK, Switzerland, Kazakhstan, Iran, North Korea or Cuba. ↗
- Using a VPN or false information to get around the restrictions is prohibited; CoinEx may freeze funds of accounts linked to a prohibited jurisdiction. ↗
- Paying spot fees in CET gives a 20% discount; it does not apply to AMM or futures markets. ↗
- The proof of reserves is self-published by CoinEx (Merkle tree and wallet balances); no external auditor is named. ↗
- CoinEx states it is not a broker, adviser or fiduciary for its users. ↗
Services
| Parameter | Details |
|---|---|
| Spot trading | Spot trading in 500+ crypto assets, plus AMM markets. |
| Derivatives | Perpetual contracts (USDT-margined and others), margin trading, crypto loans and strategy trading. |
| Own token | CoinEx Token (CET), issued in January 2018; now the gas token of CoinEx Smart Chain. |
| Own blockchain | CoinEx Smart Chain (CSC), a proof-of-stake public chain. |
| Custody / wallet | CoinEx Wallet, a self-custody multi-currency wallet. |
Proof of reserves as of 14 September 2026
| Asset | Reserve ratio |
|---|---|
| BTC | 105.6% |
| ETH | 100.6% |
| USDT | 109.1% |
| USDC | 101.5% |
| CET | 107.4% |
Method: Merkle tree of user balances compared with on-chain balances of CoinEx hot and cold wallets (self-published). ↗
Security and audits
- Private keys of the cold wallet are kept offline in a proprietary cold storage system with multi-signature protocols.
- A Shield Fund receives 10% of each trading fee to protect users in extreme events.
- CoinEx runs a public security bounty programme and publishes official channels for verification.
Fees
| Parameter | Details |
|---|---|
| Spot maker | 0.2% at VIP 0; 0.16% when paid in CET (as of 31 October 2026) |
| Spot taker | 0.2% at VIP 0; 0.16% when paid in CET (as of 31 October 2026) |
| Futures maker | 0.030% at VIP 0, USDT-margined contracts (as of 31 October 2026) |
| Futures taker | 0.050% at VIP 0, USDT-margined contracts (as of 31 October 2026) |
Who can use it
- Verification: Identity verification is required under CoinEx's AML/KYC policy before using services.
- Not available in the United States, mainland China, Hong Kong, Canada, the European Economic Area, the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Kazakhstan, Iran, North Korea, Cuba and other sanctioned jurisdictions.
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 2017 | CoinEx is founded. |
| January 2018 | CoinEx Token (CET) is issued, first on Ethereum, later migrated to CoinEx Smart Chain. |
| 12 March 2021 | CoinEx decides to keep using 20% of trading fee revenue for CET buyback and burn. |
| 14 September 2026 | Latest published proof-of-reserves snapshot. |
Risks and caveats
- No licence or registration with a financial regulator is shown on CoinEx's official pages, and the operating company's jurisdiction is not stated.
- CoinEx may restrict, suspend or terminate accounts and freeze funds at its discretion, including for accounts linked to prohibited jurisdictions.
- Proof of reserves is self-published without a named external auditor.
About the company
- Legal entity
- Algebraiex Global Limited
- Founded
- 2017
- Own token
- CoinEx Token (CET)
Official links
- Website: www.coinex.com
- Fees: www.coinex.com/en/fees
- Proof of reserves: www.coinex.com/en/reserve-proof
- Terms of use: www.coinex.com/en/service
- Security: www.coinex.com/en/sec_solutions
Questions and answers
Is CoinEx regulated?
No licence or registration with a financial regulator appears on CoinEx's official pages. Services are provided by Algebraiex Global Limited, whose jurisdiction is not stated.
Does CoinEx publish proof of reserves?
Yes, a self-published Merkle-tree report; the snapshot of 14 September 2026 shows 105.6% for BTC and 109.13% for USDT, with no external auditor named.
What are CoinEx's fees?
Spot trading costs 0.2% at VIP 0 (0.16% paid in CET); USDT-margined futures cost 0.030% maker and 0.050% taker (as of 31 October 2026).
Is CoinEx available in the US or the EU?
No. The United States, the European Economic Area, the UK, Canada, mainland China and Hong Kong are on CoinEx's prohibited list.
Sources
- CoinEx - Home
- CoinEx - About Us
- CoinEx - Terms of Service
- CoinEx - Privacy Policy
- CoinEx - Disclaimer
- CoinEx - Fees
- CoinEx - Proof of Reserve
- CoinEx - Security Solutions
- CoinEx - List of Prohibited Jurisdictions
- CoinEx - AML / KYC Policy
- CoinEx - Fee Structure for USDT-Margined Contracts
- CoinEx - Use CET as Trading Fees
- CoinEx - CET Introduction and Repurchase
- CoinEx - Official Verification Channel
More in this section
How voting works
Votes are anonymous and carry no text. Each device has one vote per item; press the same button again to remove it. Cloudflare Turnstile checks that a person is voting. We keep a random device ID in a cookie and a salted hash of the IP address to limit abuse — no names, no accounts. Votes are visitors’ opinions, not investment advice.
Page updated: