COLDCARD: keys, security, fees and reviews
In short
- Key control
- Self-custody: private keys stay offline on the device and transactions are signed without the keys touching the internet.
- Fees
- Device price: List price COLDCARD Q $369, COLDCARD Mk5 $269 in the official store (as of 31 October 2026); a one-day discount was running.
- Risks and caveats
- Seeds created on affected firmware before July 2026 remain weak after a firmware update; funds must be moved to a newly generated seed.
- Checked
- 31 October 2026
Visitor ratings: do you like COLDCARD?
Key facts
- Official site
- coldcard.com
Key facts checked on 31 October 2026 against official sources.
What is COLDCARD
COLDCARD is a Bitcoin-only hardware wallet made by Coinkite Inc. of Toronto, Canada (founded 2012). The current models are the COLDCARD Q, with a QWERTY keyboard and QR scanner, and the smaller Mk5. It signs transactions air-gapped through MicroSD, QR or NFC and works with third-party wallet software instead of a required companion app.
Who holds the keys
| Parameter | Details |
|---|---|
| Key control | Self-custody: private keys stay offline on the device and transactions are signed without the keys touching the internet. |
| Account model | No COLDCARD account or companion app needed; works with coordinator software such as Sparrow, Nunchuk or Specter. |
| Seed phrase | BIP-39 seed words (24); optional passphrase, encrypted MicroSD backups, Seed XOR and, since September 2026, Codex32 and Shamir backups. |
| Recovery | Support never asks for seed words, passphrases, dice rolls or backup files. |
Features and supported networks
| Parameter | Details |
|---|---|
| Supported networks | Bitcoin only. |
| Connectivity | QR (Q only), MicroSD, NFC, USB-C and virtual disk; all are off by default. |
| Secure element | Two secure elements from different vendors: Microchip ATECC608 and Maxim DS28C36B. |
| Display | Q: 3.2-inch LCD with full keyboard and AAA battery option; Mk5: 1.54-inch Gorilla Glass screen with numeric keypad. |
| Multisig | Multisig, descriptor export, BIP-85 child seeds, duress and brick-me PINs, temporary seeds. |
Security and audits
- Firmware source is public on GitHub (Coldcard/firmware) under MIT terms plus the Commons Clause, which restricts selling the software; builds are reproducible since firmware 4.0.0 (March 2021).
- No Common Criteria or other certification is claimed for the two secure elements (Microchip ATECC608, Maxim DS28C36B).
- Coinkite's advisory of 30 July 2026 disclosed a firmware bug that weakened seed generation; attackers regenerated keys of affected seeds offline and stole funds. Mk2/Mk3 firmware 4.0.1-4.1.9 was most affected; Mk4, Mk5 and Q seeds made before the fixes had about 72 bits of entropy instead of 128.
- Fixed firmware exists for every model (Mk2/Mk3 4.2.0, Mk4/Mk5 5.6.0, Q 1.5.0Q and later), but updating does not repair an existing affected seed; owners must move funds to a new seed unless the dice-roll exception applies.
- Independent reviewers made targeted checks of the fix; Coinkite states this is not a complete audit of every firmware binary.
Security incidents
| Date | What happened | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 30 July 2026 | Exploit: Coinkite disclosed a firmware bug that weakened seed generation (Mk2/Mk3 firmware 4.0.1-4.1.9 most affected; Mk4, Mk5 and Q seeds before the fixes had about 72 bits of entropy). Attackers regenerated private keys of affected seeds offline and stole funds; amounts were not stated. Fixed firmware was released for all models; affected seeds must be migrated. Funds returned: not stated | blog.coinkite.com |
Fees
| Parameter | Details |
|---|---|
| Device price | List price COLDCARD Q $369, COLDCARD Mk5 $269 in the official store (as of 31 October 2026); a one-day discount was running. |
| Wallet | No account or subscription; network fees are paid through the chosen coordinator software. |
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 2012 | Coinkite founded in Toronto, Canada. |
| 24 July 2018 | COLDCARD firmware source published; first public release in August 2018. |
| March 2022 | Mk4 firmware line released. |
| March 2024 | COLDCARD Q firmware released. |
| March 2026 | Mk5 source published. |
| 30 July 2026 | Security advisory on weakened seed generation; fixed releases published for all firmware tracks. |
Risks and caveats
- Seeds created on affected firmware before July 2026 remain weak after a firmware update; funds must be moved to a newly generated seed.
- Air-gapped signing still requires checking destination, amount, fee and change on the device screen.
- Coinkite recommends moving long-term custody off legacy Mk2/Mk3 devices.
About the developer
- Developer
- Coinkite Inc., Toronto, Canada; devices designed and assembled in Canada.
- Founded
- 2012 (Coinkite).
- Other products
- Opendime, Tapsigner, Satscard, Seedplate, Blockclock.
Official links
- Website: coldcard.com
- Security: coldcard.com/security/status
- Docs: coldcard.com/docs
- Source code: github.com/Coldcard/firmware
- Blog: blog.coinkite.com
- Download: store.coinkite.com/store
Questions and answers
Is COLDCARD self-custodial?
Yes. Keys stay offline on the device, no COLDCARD account is needed, and it works with third-party Bitcoin wallet software.
Is COLDCARD open source?
The firmware source is public and reproducible, under MIT terms plus the Commons Clause, which restricts commercial resale of the software.
Which coins does COLDCARD support?
Bitcoin only.
Was COLDCARD hacked?
In July 2026 Coinkite disclosed a firmware bug that weakened seed generation; attackers stole funds from affected seeds offline. Fixed firmware is out, but affected seeds must be replaced.
Who makes COLDCARD?
Coinkite Inc. of Toronto, Canada, founded in 2012.
Sources
- COLDCARD — Home
- COLDCARD — About
- COLDCARD — Security status
- Coinkite blog — Coldcard Security Advisory (30 July 2026)
- Coinkite — Store
- GitHub — Coldcard/firmware
- GitHub — Coldcard/firmware COPYING-CC
More in this section
Related
How voting works
Votes are anonymous and carry no text. Each device has one vote per item; press the same button again to remove it. Cloudflare Turnstile checks that a person is voting. We keep a random device ID in a cookie and a salted hash of the IP address to limit abuse — no names, no accounts. Votes are visitors’ opinions, not investment advice.
Page updated: