Uphold: keys, security, fees and reviews
Visitor ratings: do you like Uphold?
Key facts
- Developer
- Uphold HQ Inc.
- Official site
- uphold.com
Checked on 2026-10-27 against the official site, docs and app-store pages.
What is Uphold
Uphold is a multi-asset digital money platform run by the Uphold group (founded as Bitreserve in 2014, renamed Uphold in 2015). Its main trading account is custodial; Vault, a separate in-app feature, is a 2-of-3 multisig wallet in which the user holds two keys and Uphold one.
Who holds the keys
| Parameter | Details |
|---|---|
| Custodian | Main Uphold account: custodial. Uphold holds the private keys and keeps funds in its own name for the user's benefit. |
| Account model | For US users, crypto is held in pooled custodial wallets; internal ledgers track each user's holdings. |
| Key control | Vault: 2-of-3 multisig. The user holds the Vault Key and Backup Key; Uphold's key only co-signs user-initiated moves and key replacement. |
| Seed phrase | The Vault Backup Key is a 12-word seed phrase; the Vault Key sits in the phone's secure element, with an optional iCloud or Google Drive backup. |
| Recovery | If one Vault key is lost, Uphold's key plus the remaining user key can generate a replacement; losing both user keys without backups means losing the funds. |
Features and supported networks
| Parameter | Details |
|---|---|
| Supported networks | Vault: BTC, HBAR, XRP and some XRPL tokens (CORE, SOLO, RLUSD). The trading account lists 260+ assets. |
| Platforms | Vault works only in the Uphold mobile app; the Vault Key is stored in the phone's secure enclave, so there is no web or desktop Vault. |
| Multisig | Two of three keys are needed to move Vault funds; the user can move them with their own two keys without Uphold. |
| Swaps | One-step trading between any two supported assets on the platform. |
| Staking | Staking of more than 20 digital assets on the custodial platform. |
| Inheritance | Vault Inheritance for BTC, HBAR or XRP: one adult beneficiary with an Uphold account; claims need legal documents such as a death certificate. |
Security and audits
- Open-source status of the Uphold apps and Vault is not stated.
- Uphold reports SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 and PCI DSS certification.
- Runs a public bug bounty programme on Intigriti and states regular audits and penetration tests.
- Publishes its assets and liabilities on its website and states that reserves exceed 100%.
Fees
| Parameter | Details |
|---|---|
| Swaps | Priced via a spread; typical US/UK/EU rates: BTC and ETH 2.05–2.2%, altcoins 2.85–3.8%, USD to supported USD stablecoins 0% (with limits). |
| Subscription | Vault: $19.99 per month or $199.99 per year after a 30-day free trial; network fees apply to moves in and out. |
| Staking | Commission on staking rewards: 35% for boosted staking (from 15 October 2026), 50% for flexible staking. |
History
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 2014 | Bitreserve is founded by Halsey Minor as a Bitcoin storage platform. |
| 2015 | Bitreserve is renamed Uphold. |
| 2016 | Adds Ethereum and Litecoin support. |
| 2017 | Raises $58M in Series B funding. |
| 2021 | Becomes an Electronic Money Institution agent and launches the Uphold Card. |
| 2023 | Launches Vault, its assisted self-custody multisig wallet, first for XRP; BTC and HBAR were added later. |
Risks and caveats
- Funds in the main Uphold account are custodial: Uphold holds the private keys.
- Vault: losing both user keys without backups means permanent loss of the funds.
- Vault depends on a subscription; after it ends Uphold's key is deleted after 60 days and a new Vault is needed to resubscribe, though the user's two keys still work.
- Uphold's Canadian entity has withdrawn its registration application in certain Canadian jurisdictions and no longer offers registrable services to Canadian residents.
About the developer
- Legal entity
- US users: Uphold HQ Inc., San Francisco, NMLS ID 1269875.
- Legal entity
- Vault providers: Uphold HQ Inc. (US except NY), Uphold Europe Limited (UK), Uphold Digital Assets Europe Unipessoal, Lda (EEA), Uphold Worldwide Ltd. (other).
- Licence / registration
- FinCEN-registered money services business in the US; EMD agent of an FCA-regulated e-money issuer in the UK.
- Founders
- Halsey Minor (as Bitreserve, 2014).
Official links
- Website: uphold.com
- Vault: uphold.com/vault
- Fees: uphold.com/en-us/get-started/service-fees
- Security: uphold.com/en-us/get-started/security
- Legal: uphold.com/en-us/legal
- Status: status.uphold.com
Questions and answers
Is Uphold self-custodial?
The main Uphold account is custodial: Uphold holds the private keys. Its optional Vault feature is a 2-of-3 multisig wallet in which the user holds two keys and Uphold one.
Which coins does Uphold Vault support?
Vault supports BTC, HBAR, XRP and the XRPL tokens CORE, SOLO and RLUSD. The trading account lists more than 260 assets.
Does Uphold charge fees?
Trades are priced through a spread, e.g. 2.05–2.2% for BTC and ETH in the US, UK and Europe. Vault costs $19.99 a month or $199.99 a year after a 30-day trial.
Is Uphold audited?
Uphold reports SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 and PCI DSS certification and runs a bug bounty on Intigriti. Whether its app code is open source is not stated.
Who makes Uphold?
The Uphold group; US users deal with Uphold HQ Inc. in San Francisco. It started as Bitreserve, founded by Halsey Minor in 2014.
Sources
- uphold.com
- apps.apple.com
- Uphold — Vault
- Uphold — Vault: Assisted Self-Custody for Crypto
- Uphold — User Agreement (USA)
- Uphold — Vault Terms of Use
- Uphold — Service Fees
- Uphold — Security
- Uphold — Celebrating 10 Years of Uphold
- Uphold — Regulators for residents of the United States
- Uphold — About
- Uphold — BTC is Now Live on Vault
More in this section
How voting works
Votes are anonymous and carry no text. Each device has one vote per item; press the same button again to remove it. Cloudflare Turnstile checks that a person is voting. We keep a random device ID in a cookie and a salted hash of the IP address to limit abuse — no names, no accounts. Votes are visitors’ opinions, not investment advice.
Page updated: